Skip to content

’Twas in another lifetime, one of toil and blood When blackness was a virtue and the road was full of mud I came in from the wilderness, a creature void of form “Come in,” she said, “I’ll give you shelter from the storm” Bob Dylan

January 1, 2017

The storm was always inside me and now it has somewhat abated and now the peace rolls over me more times than it doesn’t. The endless possibilities – so near I could touch them – those possibilities out there – creative, spiritual and financial.

I remember my dad giving me a book, I’d’ve been nine or ten, by Sir Francis Chichester called the Lonely Sea & Sky – he bought it from a petrol station on the Newton Road. It was the first proper book I’d ever read; I wonder now how I marked the pages. Louise who took this photograph is from Chichester.

I’ve never been a sailor, I once missed a Danish trawler called the Iris to Esbjerg because they sailed on continental time and my watch when I got up was on GMT – I was still half cut on Carlsberg Special Brew from a late session at the Pine Court Hotel, Warren Road. Rod Hull asked me take his photo sitting between two dancers from the Princess Theatre.

I have always been in awe of the sea and respect it’s force and secrets. I love the sea, the spume, the ozone and the twisted bleached wood from Meadfoot beach that never got made into a lamp. I believe the sea saved me – being able to see it, being able to walk out of Lincoln Woods – being cosseted in so much natural beauty, balm for the soul, when my own life was so ugly.

It is now another country; it is now a memory that if I try I can feel it watering my eyes.

It will be a good year – I pray it gives all of us “Shelter from the Storm”

Photograph: Louise Burston

grand

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ava Rave permalink
    January 14, 2017 1:55 pm

    I love this picture. x

Leave a Reply

